India vs New Zealand 4th T20 Highlights: Super Over win

India’s second consecutive win in the Super Over, 4-0 lead in the series

New Zealand Cricket Team and Team India reached their second consecutive match in the Super Over and India won the second time. With this, Team India took a 4–0 lead in the series. With this, a history was created in T20 cricket. Prior to this series, two consecutive matches had not reached the Super Over.

On Friday, India lost the toss and came out to bat first. But today Swapnil could not bat India like in previous matches, but the bowlers of Team India retained him in the match. Team India set a target of 166 runs for victory in front of the New Zealand team by scoring 165 runs for eight wickets in the stipulated 20 overs, but the New Zealand team could also score the same number of runs by losing seven wickets in the scheduled 20 overs. After this, the match went to a super over. New Zealand, batting first in the Super Over, set a target of 14 runs in front of Team India. India achieved this by losing the wicket of KL Rahul. Thus, in the series of five T20 matches, India extended their lead to 4-0.

Here is the super over

Tim Seifert and Colin Munro came out to bat for New Zealand in the Super Over, while the bowling for India was handled by Jasprit Bumrah as in the previous match.

Seifert caught the first ball and scored two runs on it. Seifert hit four runs off the second ball. The third ball bounced behind the wicket, Rahul could not catch a difficult catch and Seifert again took two runs. New Zealand team scored 13 runs losing one wicket in the super over and set a target of 14 runs to win in front of India.

In response, KL Rahul and Virat Kohli came to bat for India, while the ball was once again in the hands of Tim Southee, captaining this match like in the previous match. KL Rahul sent the first ball for six, sent the second ball out for four runs and returned to the pavilion on the third ball. After this, Virat Kohli took two runs on the fourth ball and scored the fifth ball, sending the pavilion for four runs and achieved the target.

New Zealand team after a good start

The New Zealand team lost as Martin Guptill early in front of a target of 166 runs in this match. After this, wicketkeeper-batsman Seifert (57), along with Colin Munro (64), shared a 72-run partnership to ensure the victory of the New Zealand team. When the total was 96 runs in 11.4 overs, Colin Munro was run out. After this, Tom Bruce also continued to walk on zero. Then Ross Taylor (24), along with Seifert, led the New Zealand team to the victory door.

But Shardul Thakur, who brought the 20th over for India, bowled charismatic. In the last over, the New Zealand team had just seven runs to win and they had seven wickets. Taylor was dismissed on the first ball. Seifert was run out after playing fiercely on the third ball. Daryl Mitchell was sent to the pavilion on the fifth ball and Santner was run out on the sixth ball. This is how the match was tied.

Team India had a poor start today, so the middle order also flopped. For India, only opener KL Rahul (39) and Manish Pandey (50 not out) who came to bat in the lower middle order were able to bat well. Apart from these two, Shardul Thakur played a fast-paced 20 and in the end, Navdeep Saini played an unbeaten 11-run innings to somehow help Team India cross the 150. It was a result of Rahul and Manish Pandey that India could target 166 runs to win against New Zealand. While Rahul hit three fours and two sixes off 26 balls, Manish Pandey hit three fours off 36 balls.

For the New Zealand team, Ish Sodhi took three wickets, Hamish Bennett took two and captain Tim Southee, Scott Kuglejin and Mitchell Santner took one wicket each.

Captain Virat Kohli has changed his entire team for this match. Except for Kuldeep Yadav, all the players sitting on the bench have a chance. In the fourth match, the vice-captain Rohit Sharma, in-form bowler Mohammed Shami and spin all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been given a chance in the team, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, and Navdeep Saini. At the same time, the Kiwi team has kept out captain Williamson who played a brilliant inning of 95 runs in the last match.

Let it be known that this is the first T20 series win on India’s Kiwi land. This has given a lot of encouragement to Team India. Especially in the third match, the way India defeated New Zealand in the match. After that, his spirits are in the sky. And he will try his best to win the series 5–0. Virat Kohli has indicated that he is not in the mood for any laxity. After winning the third match, he said that now his focus is on winning the series 5–0. Therefore, when Team India will take on New Zealand on Friday, they will try to win this match and increase their lead to 4-0. At the same time, there is a battle of honor for the Kiwi team. She would not like to let the series unilaterally win this match.

Leave a Comment