India beat New Zealand by 6 wickets in 1st T20I at Auckland

New Zealand Cricket Team, after losing the toss and batting first, had a difficult challenge of 204 runs scheduled for victory in the first match of the five-match T20 series. From the Kiwi team, opener Colin Munro, captain Kane Williamson and experienced batsman Ross Taylor had put the team to a big score of 203 runs at the loss of five wickets after putting up half-centuries. The target of 204 runs for victory was easily achieved by Team India losing four wickets. Rebounding for India, the half-century innings of KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer played. With this, India won this match and also avenged the defeat in the semi-finals of the World Cup 2019.

Indian batting

In front of a mammoth target of 204 runs, Team India’s batsmen did not panic at all and concluded the match brilliantly. Team India easily achieved this goal of six balls in advance. However, India’s first wicket fell early as Rohit Sharma. After this, KL Rahul (56) and captain Virat Kohli (45) together shared 8.2 quick 99 runs for the second wicket. He missed a century partnership by one run but brought India back in the match. Lokesh Rahul was out when the team’s total was 115 runs in 10 overs. He hit four fours and three sixes while batting at a strike rate of over 200 off 27 balls. After this, Kohli also did not stay for long. When the total was 121 in 11.1 overs, he was dismissed and walked to the pavilion. He hit three fours and a six in his 32-ball innings. After this, Shreyas Iyer (58 not out), who came to bat at number four, struck a partnership with Shivam Dubey (13) and Manish Pandey (14 not out) to give India an over before victory.

The most successful bowler from the Kiwi team was Ish Sodhi. He took two wickets, while Hamish Bennett and Blair Tickner got one wicket each.

Kiwi got a great start

The host New Zealand team got off to a great start by their openers Martin Guptill (30) and Colin Munro (59). Both of them batted fast and added 80 runs in 7.5 overs. Guptill was out on this score. He hit four fours and six off 19 balls. After this, captain Williamson (51), who came to bat in the third place, also scored a half-century. Meanwhile, Munro was dismissed for the fifth ball of the 11th over for a total of 116. He hit six fours and two sixes off 42 balls. At the same time, Williamson hit four fours and as many sixes off 26 balls before being dismissed. Apart from these three, veteran batsman, Ross Taylor remained unbeaten on 54 runs. He hit three fours and three sixes off 27 balls.

Pant out, Shivam got a chance

Virat Kohli had indicated the day before the match that KL Rahul would be responsible for wicketkeeping and that is what happened. Rishabh Pant has not been included in the playing XI. Shivam Dubey has been given a chance in his place, while Yuzvendra Chahal has been included in the playing XI instead of Kuldeep Yadav. Apart from this, Shardul Thakur has been given preference over Navdeep Saini.

Leave a Comment